Resto review: Résonance cafe

Hey guys! I hope you’re not starving because I’m about to talk about delicious food! I thought it would be cool to let you in on some of Montreal’s veggie-oriented restaurants in case you should ever find yourself in this beautiful city!

My first veggie resto review comes from Résonance cafe. Funny story: I only found out about this restaurant because I was looking for a veggiefied resto in the same area that my dietician works in so that I could leave work, eat, and learn without going to different parts of the city. This place just happened to be on the block past my dietician’s office, so eating here was a no-brainer.

On first glance, you get a little thrown off by the entrance: it’s kind of like the basement of an apartment building so you need to walk down into the place. Actually, if it wasn’t for the bus stop that is right in front of the place, I probably wouldn’t have found it right away. Anyways, once you walk in, you know you found the place: a counter with bowls of fruits and veggies, a black chalkboard with all the different coffees and teas, banquets and tables scattered across the place, and at the very back, a dark stage where live acts perform every night at 9. (Unfortunately I haven’t been there late enough to catch a live performance but I will soon!)

To order, you just walk up to the cashier (usually an extremely kind and friendly staff member) and check out the menu to pick what you want. Standard fare include soups, sandwiches, and “bowls” made up of rice and veggies and spices. My favorite dish is the Black beans on rice, which is topped with a veggie chili and corn relish *drool* and for $1.50 extra you can have slice avocado on top, too. I like this dish so much that if I have an empty tupperware from that day’s lunch, I’ll ask them to fill my tupperware with this beans-on-rice dish and eat it for lunch the next day! For a refreshing drink, the chilled pearl Jasmine tea is delicious. Another dish I’ve had here, but isn’t on the online menu for some reason, is the Channa bowl. It has more of an Indian flavour, and an abundance of yummy veggies and vegan sour cream to top it all off. Check out this goodness:

image

Here is the beans-on-rice dish with a delicious corn relish on tops (already in my tupperware):
image

While you eat, you can do some work on a laptop (free Wifi!), read a book (like I always do) or just relax and listen to the music playing, which usually is quite folk-jazzy and very pleasant. The place has never been empty while I was there, even on rainy days, and the artwork on the wall is amazing!

I honestly look forward to eating here because I really enjoy the food, the music, and the staff is just so nice. Check them out if you get the chance!

Resonance cafe
5175-A Avenue du Parc
Montreal, QC
514-894-7543
open from 10:00 a.m. to midnight everyday

My next post will be a delicious muffin recipe which was taught to me at my last cooking class, courtesy of our talented vegan chef. I’ll save the details for the post!

Leave a comment

DISCLAIMER

I do not work in any nutrition-related fields so any information given on this blog is based on my own research and experience and should not be used in place of sound medical advice from a professional. Please consult your doctor or naturopath for any ailments or problems you may be experiencing. I do not receive any compensation or payment for mentioning any products, brands, services or companies, etc. on my blog, unless stated otherwise.