I’m still here!

I didn’t even visit my blog to see the last time I posted anything, making me guiltier than I already am. Talk about slacking off. And the blog wasn’t the only one paying for it: I slacked off pretty hard all over the place. No exercise, ate cheese, had alcohol, tested my blood sugars 2 or 3 times a day instead of my usual 6 to 10, ate a lot of processed vegetarian restaurant food and yes, I felt like crap. I got back on the bandwagon over the last week, so my energy levels have gone up, my blood sugars have gone down and I feel better overall. Thank goodness.

I wish I could explain to you what happened, but I don’t know. It’s like someone turned my healthy switch off and I was living for instant gratification. The coffee, the bagels, the sweet processed pastries, the noodles, the salted nuts… all because I was bored, tired, unmotivated. It’s not the first time this happens to me. I find that my healthy bursts come in waves where I’ll be super careful for several months and then, all of a sudden, I’m drinking coffee and alcohol and eating processed crap.

I’m not sure how to stop this. I equate this to yo-yo dieting and I’m 100% sure that it’s not healthy for me. Aside from all this, I recently passed some blood tests and the doctor wants to see me to talk about my cholesterol. Safe to say I wasn’t really surprised (I’ve been a huge cheese-eater my entire life) but I’m most scared that he’s going to try to put me on cholesterol-lowering drugs and I’m going to have to sit there and refuse and convince him that I could lower my cholesterol all alone, using wholesome plant-based nutrition. And then I think to the future and ask myself if my hard work towards lowering my cholesterol will get sabotaged by my tendency to slack off after a certain amount of time…

Anyways, it just feels good to be back and I’m already preparing for my next blog post which should go up sometime this week. I’m on vacation from work all week so this will give some much-needed “me” time and a chance to get my health into gear for the season. Hope you all enjoyed your Labour Day weekend!

Leave a comment

DISCLAIMER

I do not work in any nutrition-related fields so any information given on this blog is based on my own research and experience and should not be used in place of sound medical advice from a professional. Please consult your doctor or naturopath for any ailments or problems you may be experiencing. I do not receive any compensation or payment for mentioning any products, brands, services or companies, etc. on my blog, unless stated otherwise.